National Football Foundation Honors 9 Engineers

National Football Foundation Honors 9 Engineers


TERRE HAUTE, IND. -- Nine members of the Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology football team have been named to the National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society, in results released today by the NFF and the College Hall of Fame. 

Aaron Abbott, Jacob Dye, Craig Larew, Michael Laritz, Matt Pansera, Tyler Rockwood, Chris Sander, Kevin Trizna and Joseph Woodley earned spots on the squad, based on the combination of their on-the-field and in-the-classroom achievement. 

The qualifications for the squad that included being a starter or key reserve meeting certain varsity game participation requirements, carrying a 3.20 cumulative grade point average, and being on track to graduate. 

Rose-Hulman finished with an 8-2 record last fall and placed second in the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference under fifth-year head coach Jeff Sokol. 

The Hampshire Honor Society consisted of 868 players from 275 institutions.  Rose-Hulman opens the 2016 campaign on Sept. 3 at home against Illinois College.