Hong, Martin Named CCIW Swimmers of the Year

Hong, Martin Named CCIW Swimmers of the Year

(Information in this release provided by the CCIW office)

NAPERVILLE, Ill. – Rose-Hulman's Orion Martin and Ellie Hong were the recipients of the 2016 College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin (CCIW) Swimmer of the Year awards as announced by the CCIW on Wednesday.

Martin became the first four-time winner of the CCIW Male Swimmer of the Year award.   He earned all-America honors with a sixth-place finish in the 100-yard butterfly (48.51) at the NCAA Division III Championships for the third year in a row.

Martin also won the 100 butterfly (48.36) for the fourth-straight year at the CCIW Championship and set CCIW open records in the 100 freestyle (44.92), 200 freestyle (1:39.70), and 200 butterfly (1:47.73). His 100 butterfly time (48.00) was the 2nd fastest time in CCIW history behind only his time of 47.92 from 2015.

Martin caps his career with three All-American awards; four CCIW Male Swimmer of the Year awards; four Scholar All-American honors; CoSIDA Academic All-America accolades; five individual and five relay CCIW championship performance; 16 total all-CCIW marks; and four individual and five relay Rose-Hulman school records.

Hong earned her first CCIW Female Swimmer of the Year award after capturing two All-American honors at this year's NCAA Division III Championships.  She placed fourth in the 200-yard backstroke (1:58.77) and seventh in the 100-yard backstroke (55.70) and was the only CCIW athlete to place in the top eight in two individual events.

Additionally, Hong was the conference champion in the 200 backstroke (2:00.66) and finished second in both the 100 backstroke (56.49) and 50-yard freestyle (24.22) to earn all-conference honors in those two events.

Hong completed her junior year with a school record tying four All-American awards; eight all-conference performances, highlighted by one conference title; and four individual and five relay school record performances.
The CCIW Swimmer of the Year award was established in 2011 to recognize the student-athlete with the overall best performance from the regular season to the national championships. The winner is voted on by the conference's head swimming coaches.
CCIW Male Swimmers of the Year
2016 Orion Martin – Rose-Hulman
2015 Orion Martin – Rose-Hulman
2014 Orion Martin – Rose-Hulman
2013 Orion Martin – Rose-Hulman
2012 Kyle Drake – Carthage
2011 Kyle Drake – Carthage
CCIW Female Swimmers of the Year
2016 Ellie Hong – Rose-Hulman
2015 Kirsty Nitz – Wheaton & Kirsten Slaughter – Illinois Wesleyan
2014 Kirsty Nitz – Wheaton
2013 Kirsty Nitz – Wheaton
2012 Katie McHugh – Illinois Wesleyan
2011 Amanda Croix – Carthage