Three Special Awards Lead 31 All-HCAC Honorees

Three Special Awards Lead 31 All-HCAC Honorees

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. -- Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology earned three special awards and 31 total student-athletes recived all-Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference honors in track and field for their performances in the league Indoor Championships last weekend.

David Borden and Lauren London were named HCAC Men's and Women's Freshmen of the Year for their efforts in scoring the most points in the meet among all freshman competitors.  

Head coach Larry Cole was the third award winner as the HCAC Men's Coach of the Year.  The honor marked Cole's 17th career conference Coach of the Year award and his 15th in the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference after leading the men's team to its sixth straight indoor league title.  Members of the coaching staff included distance coach Geoff Wayton, throws coach Christy Sherman, and volunteer assistant Liz Evans.

Men's first-team all-conference honorees included individual conference champions Josh Blome (pole vault), Brandon Loyer (mile), Brendon Mattiuz (800 meters), Charles Spaeth (shot put) and Brendan Smyth (triple jump).

Rose-Hulman also swept the 4-x-200, 4-x-400 and distance medley relay championships, and each winning team member claims first-team all-league accolades.  The 4-x-200 meter relay team consisted of Adam WilsonIsaiah Smith, Borden and Josh Hennig.  The winning 4-x-400 meter relay team included Smyth, Smith, Borden and Hennig.  The distance medley relay team included Alex LeversenBrandon BullittRobert Myers and Mattiuz.

On the women's side, first-team all-conference honorees included individual league champions Victoria Heckenlively (400 meters), Gabi Razma (triple jump) and Jaclyn Setina (high jump).  The winning 4-x-400 meter relay squad was also named first-team all-league, including Razma, Heckenlively, Anne Boxeth and Addie Johnson.

The men's second-team all-conference performers included those runner-up performers who were not on the first-team all-squad.  Men's second-team all-league honorees included Matt Hill (3,000 meters and 5,000 meters), Josh Himes (shot put and weight throw), Kenton Hipsher (high jump), Kevin Mauser (mile), Nick Palmer (pole vault) and Dimitris Valioulis (60-meter hurdles).  

Women's second-team all-league performers included London from the 4-x-200 meter relay team, and the distance medley relay squad that included Emma Ross, Kally Morozin and Camille Blaisdell.

Honorable mention all-HCAC performers finished third in an event without being named to the first two all-league teams.  Men's honorable mention all-league honorees included Andrew Okruch, Lucas Schulthies and Sam Sobczak, while Mallory McDevitt received the women's award.

In addition, Bullitt and Johnson received spots on the all-HCAC Sportsmanship Team for their efforts on and off the track.